07-03-201407/03/2014, South African Minister of Science & Technology to speak at Innovation Convention

The Innovation Convention 2014 will take place in Brussels on 10 and 11 March, 2014. It is an essential part of the Innovation Union flagship initiative, the European Union strategy which aims to create an innovation-friendly environment that makes it easier for great ideas to be turned into products and services that will bring our economy growth and jobs. 
The Convention provides a platform to debate and inform policies that will contribute towards the building of a research and innovation eco-system in Europe that can support this objective.
Derek Hanekom, South African Minister of Science and Technology will be featured in a Conference session titled, "Innovation Café: "Global challenges, global collaboration" taking place on March 10, 2014 at 14:00 - 15:15.
The innovation café format has the broadest scope among the Convention sessions and the widest range of speakers from public and private sector backgrounds. This café will provide visionary views on methods to strengthen global collaboration in research and innovation to confront and respond to global challenges.
It will also discuss what has worked and where the main obstacles mainly lie, the benefits/risks of global collaboration and the possibilities for strengthening research collaboration within economic competition.
Speakers also include:
·         Jennie Yeung, President & Founder, United Nations Education Science Cultural Health Advancement Foundation , China;
·         Lino Baranao, Argentinean Minister of Science, Technology and Productive Innovation;
·         Eddie Bernice Johnson, Congresswoman, U.S. House of Representatives - Ranking Member, Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, United States; and
·         Jean-Pierre Bourguignon (President of the European Research Council, France
Time and Date: Monday, March 10, 2014 at 14:00 - 15:15
Glass Entrance, rue Mont des Arts, B-1000 Brussels
For further information on the Innovation Convention: https://ec.europa.eu/research/innovation-union/ic2014/index_en.cfm?pg=home
Media Enquiries
Simona Ondrejkova
ISC Intelligence in Science 
e-mail: simona.ondrejkova@iscintelligence.com  
Tel: +32 (0) 2 88 88 107
Mob: +32 (0) 472 845 054
Jessica Hadjis
ISC Intelligence in Science
e-mail: jessica.hadjis@iscintelligence.com 
Tel: +32 2 88 88 100
Mob: +32 487 163 107
Biography: Derek Hanekom, South African Minister of Science and Technology
Derek Hanekom was born in Cape Town, South Africa on 13 January 1953 and did his schooling in Cape Town. After completing his compulsory conscription he travelled abroad for three years, working on farms, in factories and on construction sites. He returned to South Africa in his early twenties and farmed for six years.
It was his arrest for participating in a peaceful candlelight demonstration at John Vorster Square, the Police Headquarters in Johannesburg that prompted the start of his active political life in 1976. He and his wife Patricia joined the African National Congress (ANC) in 1980, and did underground political work while farming on a smallholding in Magaliesburg.
Amongst other things, they provided the ANC with information about the apartheid defence force's attempts to overthrow the Mozambican government through the rebel movement, Renamo. This led to their arrest in 1983, initially charged with High Treason, but subsequently reduced to lesser charges as a result of the international sensitivity of the case.
After serving a three year period in prison, Derek worked with the trade union movement in Johannesburg, until his wife's release from prison in 1987, and subsequent deportation to Zimbabwe. They spent the following three years in exile in Zimbabwe. During this period Derek served as the co-ordinator of the Popular History Trust in Harare. He returned to South Africa after the unbanning of political organizations in 1990, to work at the headquarters of the ANC, where he was responsible for policy formulation on land and agricultural matters during the period of negotiations prior to the first democratic elections in 1994.
He served as Minister of Agriculture and Land Affairs from 1994 to 1999, piloting various reform bills through Parliament which aimed to redress the injustices and inequities caused by apartheid laws and the 1913 Land Act. This legislation laid the foundation for land reform in the post-apartheid era.
During the period 1999 - 2004 he served as a Member of Parliament on various Parliamentary Committees. He served as Deputy Minister of Science and Technology from April 2004 was promoted Minister of Science and Technology in October 2012.
He was re-elected to the ANC’s National Executive Committee (NEC), a committee he has served in since 1994. He was elected to serve on the National Working Committee of the NEC and is the Chairperson of the National Disciplinary Committee.
He also serves as the Deputy Chairperson of the Board of the Ahmed Kathrada Foundation.
For further information: http://www.dst.gov.za


NewsRead the latest news